The Corporation of the Township of Whitewater Region

By-law Number 17-08-986

Being a by-law to establish through Terms of Reference the Arenas Transition Team and appoint its members

Whereas, Section 11(3)5 of the Municipal Act, 2001 S.O. 2001, c.25 as amended provides the municipality with broad authority within the sphere of culture, parks, recreation and heritage; and

Whereas, Council deems it expedient and necessary to establish an Arenas Transition Team;

Now therefore Council of the Corporation of the Township of Whitewater Region enacts as follows:

- 1. That the Arenas Transition Team is hereby established.
- 2. That the Terms of Reference, included as Schedule A and forming part of this by-law, are hereby adopted.
- 3. That the following persons are hereby appointed at the pleasure of Council for the term expiring on November 30, 2018 or at such earlier time Council considers appropriate:

Councillor Chris Olmstead - Chair Councillor Cathy Regier Robert Tremblay, CAO/Clerk (alternate: Marsha Hawthorne, Deputy CAO/Clerk) Jordan Durocher, Manager of Community Services Hugh Martin, Supervisor of Arenas & Parks (alternate: Debbie Ready, Accounts Receivable/CS Coordinator) Heather Corrigan (Cobden) Neil Nicholson (Westmeath) Sheila Wishart (Beachburg) Brent Gould, Muskrat Minor Hockey Association

 That this by-law shall come into force and take effect upon being passed by Council.

Read a first, second and third time and finally passed this 2nd day of August, 2017.

Hal Johnson, Mayor Robert H.A. Tremblay, Clerk

Schedule "A" to By-law 18-08-986

Terms of Reference Whitewater Region Arenas Transition Team

1. Mandate

The Arenas Transition Team will serve as a mechanism for on-going dialogue during the transition of arena operations.

2. Focus

The Arenas Transition Team will focus on operational matters to ensure a smooth transition. Formal decision-making or approval authority rests with the Council of the Township of Whitewater Region.

3. Term

The Arenas Transition Team will be appointed by Council consistent with appointment practices until the end of the 2014-2018 Council term. Vacancies will be filled on an as-needed basis.

4. Composition

The Arenas Transition Team will be comprised of the following Members of Council appointed on the recommendation of the Mayor:

- Chair of Community Services
- Chair of Corporate Services.

The following staff are deemed appointed:

- CAO/Clerk and/or Treasurer/Deputy CAO
- Manager of Community Services
- Supervisor of Arenas & Parks.

Citizen members shall be appointed on the recommendation of the Mayor:

- Representative of Muskrat Minor Hockey
- Representative of the Westmeath & District Recreation Association
- Representative of the former Cobden & District Recreation Association
- Representative of the Beachburg Recreation Association.

The Arenas Transition Team is committed to acting in an ethical manner with the avoidance of conflict of interest as a body and as individuals.

By-law 18-08-986

5. Meetings

The Arenas Review Team is not considered a Committee of Council as defined in the Procedural By-law.

Accordingly, the Arenas Transition Team is more informal in structure and its meetings are not open to the public. Agendas and minutes are not produced. Acting items are noted and filed. Progress on the transition of arena operations will reported to Council through the quarterly report and as required.

The Arenas Transition Team will meet at the call of the Manager of Community Services.

By-law 18-08-986